Boogie Woogie is an Indian Television dance show that airs on Sony Entertainment Television and Sony Entertainment Television Asia. Debuting in 1997, the show is hosted by Indian film and television personalities, Javed Jaffrey and Ravi Behl, who are also the producers and creators of the show. Javed Jaffrey appears as the permanent celebrity judge. It is shot in Mehta Industrial Estate in Andheri, Mumbai. It is one of the oldest dance reality shows on Indian TV and it has become the longest show in India.

The popularity of the dance show has led to the creation of special championship shows, such as kids’ championships, teen championships and celebrity championships, in which various Indian celebrities, such as Mithun Chakraborty, Juhi Chawla, Esha Deol, Dia Mirza, Govinda, Vivek Oberoi and Ritesh Deshmukh have participated. According to the Sony Entertainment Television Asia website, “there are no prizes for winning…loads of accolades, applause and appreciation”.

Season 2 – After a long gap of 5-6 years, the show was relaunched by Sony Entertainment Television in 2003 for its 2nd season.

Season 3 – The show held auditions for its new season contestants from 16 to 20 February 2008 in Mumbai. The new season began on Sony Entertainment Television Asia in mid-March. In the end of February or in the beginning of March 2008, the name of series was prefixed with “Videocon” under a sponsorship deal and was titled Boogie Woogie Little Champs.

Season 4 – After the end of the 3rd season, its 4th season was launched in the last week of November 2008.
Season 5 – After the end of its 4th season, Sony Entertainment Television again launched the series for its 5th season on 29 May 2009, named Boogie Woogie Mummy’s Championship. The series was continuously telecast from February or March 2008 to 3 October 2009, and was replaced by the new dance series Dance Premier League from 9 October 2009. However, the series was said to be return after Dance Premier League ends.

Season 6 – And the series really returned from 19 May 2010 as its 6th season. This season was telecast bi-weekly on every Wednesday and Thursday at 9 PM IST. Its Grand Finale was telecast on 13 August 2010.

Season 7 – In 2013 after three years of absence the show is back with its 7th season called Boogie Woogie Kids Championship which premiered on 7 December 2013, and telecast weekly on every Saturday and Sunday at 8:30 PM IST. The Season 7 is being hosted by TV Actress Sargun Mehta

By admin